Vacation Rental Menu
Bluff City, TN Vacation Rentals
Pappaw's Fishing Pad  #1
  Pappaw's Fishing Pad  #2
Pappaw's RV Rental
Gatlinburg, TN Vacation Rentals
Southern Comfort
Canoodle Nest
Northern Lights
Heart's Desire
   
       

Home Page
Home Page
Home Page
 
CHOOSE LOCATION:
Bluff City
Pappaw's is 3.5 miles
to Bristol city limits

Gatlinburg
 
 
Contact Bob Light at
boblight3651@aol.com
or call 423.534.1203

Pappaw's RV Rental - Reviews



Traveler Reviews for Pappaw's Fishing Pad, Vacation Rental, in Bluff City, TN

To enter your own
Review, click button

Home Page

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Awesome!!
  
Guest: Howard and Shirley (Afton, VA 22920 USA)
  
Date of Stay: Feb 2017 & June 2017
  
What a great place to relax, fish & just sit on the bank of the river & enjoy the peace & quiet!! Fishing was great!! Campfire was great!! We stayed in Pad #2 & it was spotless! Thank you, Lynn, for keeping it so clean & tidy & well-stocked!! Howard & his fishing buddy, Frank, stayed there again in June 2017 & caught so many fish with their fishing guide Jimmy Cheers!! We all will be back again soon!!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Happy Place
  
Guest: Bob, Maryann (Cartersville, Ga 30121 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 5/18-21/2017
  
Been coming to Pappaws for several years. The fishing is outstanding and accommodations are great! Always a relaxing time when we come and always get into some Big fish. Thanks for having us again looking forward to our next visit.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Great for everybody - even Pappaw's Webmaster!
  
Guest: The Whittimore Family (Elizabethton, TN 37643 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 4/28/17 - 4/29/17
  
I built Pappaw's Fishing Pad website back in 2010 and still remain his loyal webmaster. My husband was on vacation and it was also my youngest daughter's 18th birthday (that's her big sister in the header above under Honeymoon, by the way), so we drug the boyfriend along and headed to Pappaw's for the weekend. The guys enjoyed fishing right outside the door of the R.V. and we all enjoyed the rest of the family who came to the fire-pit and picnic area for hotdogs and S'mores the first evening for the birthday celebration. We rented the R.V. and were allowed to take our two dogs. The R.V. was extremely clean and had everything we needed, including the cookies, of course. :) We sent my poor husband on a wild goose chase trying to find some firewood for the fire pit. He got lost. Ha Ha! So finally I called Pappaw and asked if there were any places that sold firewood. He said, "It's there under the bridge." Pappaw really took care of all our needs! It was pretty funny when my husband returned and we showed it to him only a few feet from where he had been fishing. Pappaw's is a really quiet and nice place to stay and I'm glad we were finally able to stay there and get away for a weekend. I would recommend to anyone any of the beautiful units as well as the R.V. (especially when I'm the one that gets your emailed reviews and post them and I know they're real reviews, so that speaks volumes to me as far as staying here and recommending Pappaw's).
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Very Relaxing
  
Guest: The Middletons (Lancaster, Ky 40444 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 6/16/16 - 6/19/16
  
There were three of us that stayed: my husband, my brother-in law and myself. We purchased tickets to NHR drag races in Bristol. We were tired of staying at motels, so found PaPaws on line and we stayed in Pad 1. It was very clean and all the comforts of home. The first night we were there we sat on the deck and listened to the water run. Very relaxing, very nice place to stay just to get away from all the hustle and bustle of the business world.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
A little slice of Heaven
  
Guest: David Spatz (Peachtree City, USA)
  
Date of Stay: 6/9-6/12/16
  
My 2 sons and I rented the RV for our annual Father's Day fishing trip. The RV is situated right on the SOHO so all we had to do was step off the deck and we were fishing. Everything was great, very clean, very comfy beds and Bob even had cookies waiting for us. The RV even has a radio system that is hooked up in every room, flat screen TV, fire pit that we used every night, a full sized shower, great AC and a picnic table right by the river. Who could ask for anything more?
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Just can't say enough about this little slice of heaven!
  
Guest: Vanessa & Ken (Charleston, SC 29492 USA)
  
Date of Stay: Memorial Weekend 2016
  
We just can't say enough good things about Pappaw's wonderful fishing pad! My family and I spent Memorial weekend there and we couldn't be happier! Stocked with everything you need, great customer service, beautiful view and more. Thanks so much Pappaw for your hospitality. We can't wait to come back in July for another fun weekend visit!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
FLY FISHERMAN.....RENT THIS CABIN!!
  
Guest: Paul Melgaard (Brentwood, TN USA)
  
Date of Stay: 5/24/16 to 5/26/16
  
A buddy and I were planning a quick fly fishing trip to the South Holston and our guide recommended we try to stay at Pappaw's. Fortunately Bob had a vacancy.

The property sits on great water. In fact, our guide picked us up on our first full day and we did not move more than 500 yards from Pappaw's. We fished from his drift boat and landed 30+ nice trout including several in the 20" range. Evenings and mornings were spent wading in the channel in front of the property catching healthy, strong fish. I'd estimate there is 200 yards of wadable water in front of the property including a few nice channels, runs, pools and riffles.

The cabin is great, beds are comfortable, all appliances first class (our unit even had a dishwasher), plenty of hot water, all utensils and linens. Heck, the gas grill even had plenty of gas for steaks and burgers.

You may pay a few bucks less in town but the value of being on the water, close to fish in a spectacular setting is WELL worth the added cost.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
20th anniversary delight
  
Guest: Mark & Penny Gardner (Akron , Ohio 44320 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 4/15 thru 4/20/2016
  
This was our 20th anniversary get away. We came for Bristol NASCAR and was so blessed to get to stay at Pappaw's fishing pad. It was so relaxing being right on the river... I mean just steps from our deck to the river. Sitting by the fire and listening to the river at night ..just heaven. Bob was such a pleasure. He was on top of everything..he said all you need is your hubby and food and he meant it..everything provided. We are already planning on coming next year. Thank you Bob. !! If you're looking for a great place to fish and relax. This is it...don't hesitate .. This paradise goes fast..!!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Great weekend of racing and fishing!
  
Guest: Kent & Lisa Rowley (Maine, USA)
  
Date of Stay: 4/15-4/18 2016
  
We had a great stay in Pad #2! The place was clean and had all the comforts of home. Even some welcome cookies! Steps from the water and a wonderful fly-fishing spot and just a short drive to Bristol Motor Speedway. The kitchen was well stocked and we used the grill a number of times. We also enjoyed a few evening fires in the fire pit on the shore of the river. Truly a wonderful place! Thanks, Bob!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Blows tent camping away !!
  
Guest: Mike Faracca (Williamsville)
  
Date of Stay: 3/31 - 4/4/2016
  
I booked Pad#1 after surfing for other places to stay on the SoHo, the website is a good tool to make the sale. However my 2 buddies never really checked out the website, and when we all arrived at Pappaw's, they were completely blown away by how great the place is. Truly, the home setting exceeds expectations. Every single thing that you could want is provided. No exceptions. The fact that it sits within spittin' distance of maybe the best run on the river is icing on the cake. The fact that you don't have to load up your backpack for a day on the river and get a backache - just bring your stuff from the pad down to the fire pit table and make your gear changes. And stop up to the pad for a noon break and a beer (or a nap!). Words cannot describe how convenient everything is. Bob has thought of everything and this is probably the best value I have ever experienced. We are already talking about next years trip. And the cookies left by Bob disappeared over the course of our stay. Pappaw's is over the top.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Our Favorite Place on the South Holston
  
Guest: Lance Mitchell (Mooresville, NC,  USA)
  
Date of Stay: 3/11-3/14 2016
  
We have been staying at Papaws' for several years. We love it for many reasons. It is the nicest place on the river, and is centrally located to all of the best fishing areas. The river at the cabin is also one of the best fishing spots. The accommodations are like being at home, but cleaner, with great kitchens and unlike anywhere else...nice gas and charcoal grills. They have all of the cooking utensils that you could ever need, which is always an issue at other cabins. There is a nice fire pit beside the river with nice chairs, and they have an abundant supply of firewood. It makes our fishing trips even more like a vacation. We look forward to many more trips to Papaws'.
  

Tough fish but lots of them!
  
Guest: Pete (Pinehurst,  USA)
  
Date of Stay: 9/8-9/15
  
Stayed in RV--very very clean and comfortable--Bob is great to work with--terrific communication--we'll return for sure!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Clean and all the comforts of Home!
  
Guest: Greg and Melanie Morrett (Lancaster, KY 40444 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 8/12-8/14/2015
  
Couldn't believe just how clean Papaw's pad #1 was, seriously clean :) Very comfortable, had all the comforts of home and was so nice to come back to after a long day of fishing. The river was very beautiful where the pad sits and I caught my first nice brown trout within 10 minutes of wetting a line that first evening. It was really nice to get to meet Papaw and Mrs. Papaw during our stay and Papaw was very helpful giving us some tips on when and where to fish while we were there. Good folks, very kind, really sweet, especially the delicious bag of cookies they left for us! Thanks again for a great stay and we will definitely stay at Papaw's pad again when we find ourselves back in town. :) By the way, met a guy at the South Holston Fly Shop who was staying at a place across the river from us and he said it was so dirty he wouldn't dream of bringing his wife there on his next trip. We gave him Papaw's number :)
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Can't Wait To Come Back!
  
Guest: Abby Goss (Trinity, NC 27370 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 8/6/15-8/9/2015
  
I came here with my mom and dad. We can't wait to come back . We stayed in pad 1 and it was like we were at home. Bob gave us cookies when we met. Bob is very kind and sweet he tries his hardest to make you comfortable. This was my first time fly fishing. Bob has helped us so much. He helped find places we were looking for. I lost my grandpa in 2008 and Bob has reminded me of grandpa and all the good memories. I love this place and I will be coming back in a couple of weeks. I hope you have a great time when you come stay like we did.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Cookies and Hospitality
  
Guest: Jan and Mike (Holland Patent, NY USA)
  
Date of Stay: 5/8-5/9/2015
  
Hey Bob, Thanks for the cookies and this was our better spot of the 2 we chose to stay in TN. Accommodations fit us well. So close to the river and at a great fishing hole in the river as all seemed to congregate in that spot. Good spot to get to know the waters of the SO HO RIVER. If we come your way again we would definitely book your fishing Pad. Thanks for the TN hospitality as well, made us feel like home!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
SPRING FISHING FLING
  
Guest: TONY BRANCACCIO (Cary, NC 27518 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 4/14-4/15/2015
  
GREAT PLACE TO STAY. EVERYTHING YOU NEED IS RIGHT THERE. VERY CLEAN ROOMS, BEDS, UTENSILS, GLASSES, POTS & PANS. CAUGHT A FEW TROUT OFF THE BANK.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Fantastic place on the river!
  
Guest: Mark Theiler (Euharlee, GA 30145 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 4/7/15-4/10/15
  
Stayed for 4 nights in Pad#1 with 3 fishing buddies. The accommodations were more than comfortable. Bob Light is a great guy and a pleasure to do business with. Great fishing area right outside your door. What more could you ask for? Had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Tough Fishing and Great Living
  
Guest: Robert Andrews (Cartersville, GA USA)
  
Date of Stay: April 7th - 11th 2015
  
If you know the SoHo, you know it can be tough fishing with two inches of rain in one day and lots of generation. As far as the accommodations at Pappaw's, it was great. Bob has a great place with some great fishing right out the door. It is very easy, just bring your fishing gear, stop for some groceries and you are ready. Both pad 1 and 2 have every thing you need from pots and pans to a washer and dryer. Both are very clean and the grounds are great. Easy access to the river. Many of the guides will drop anchor right there and pick up a few fish. The local Ospreys also love the fishing at Pappaw's and you have a very good chance to see a Bald Eagle. We met some great guys while we were there and Bob is a great guy also. A great place for families or a group of fishing friends. I will try to stay there every time I go to the South Holston river.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Fisherman
  
Guest: Jordan Sweany (Washington, PA USA)
  
Date of Stay: 3/26-28 2015
  
This was my second time at pap paws and both were great stays. The accommodations are the best. Clean, warm, comfortable, and convenient for fishing. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice play to stay and enjoy some fishing.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Fly Fisherman
  
Guest: Kevin Crowe (Charlotte, NC 28277 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 9/30/14 - 10/2/14
  
This was our third visit to Pappaw's. As usual we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Bob Light is a gracious host and gentleman. We will continue to come back and look forward to booking another trip soon.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Wonderful weekend at Pappaw's!
  
Guest: Laura J. (Mount Juliet, TN 37122 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 7/3-7/5/14
  
This is our third time at Pappaw's and we cannot wait to come back next year (maybe this Fall)! We stayed in Pad 2. It was very clean, well stocked with the necessities, and was very comfortable. Bob has done a lot of work on the bank of the river and it was very user friendly. The fishing was outstanding! We saw a neighbor catch a MONSTER trout one night! We highly recommend this for couples, families, guy trips, etc. Thanks Bob for taking good care of us! The cookies were great!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Loved it!
  
Guest: Linda Cobb (Walhalla, SC 29691 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 6/14-15
  
We stayed in the RV and loved it! Very clean and accessible. Hopefully we will get to return soon!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Great Place to Stay!
  
Guest: Ralph Mueller (Apex, NC 27502 USA)
  
Date of Stay: Thanksgiving Weekend 2013
  
I met Mr. Light the day he moved his travel trailer onto his property on the river. He showed several of the guys I was fishing with Pad 1 and Pad 2 even though we had just come out of the river with wet wading boots and all. Stayed there this past Thanksgiving weekend. Great accommodations and met the folks staying in the lower unit and enjoyed fire river side with them.

Wading and fishing were not possible this trip because of the generation schedules. Great place to stay and great fishing to be had in the south Holston River.

I have run into Mr. Light several times while fishing the river and even in Winston Salem at the Fly Fishing Show and he is a joy to talk with and always willing to help.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Awesome weekend at Pappaw's!
  
Guest: James C., Tennessee
  
Date of Stay: April 2014
  
What a great place to spend a weekend fishing the S Fork of the Holston. This place has everything you need! You could go the whole weekend without ever having to get in the car. Great fishing within walking distance. We will be back for sure!! Thanks Bob!!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Great Winter Fishing Spot
  
Guest: The Stones (Taft, TN 38488 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 2/14/2014
  
Enjoyed a long weekend stay at Pad #1. We were worried the fishing would not be good because of the cold weather (it had snowed the day before we arrived), but we had great luck, catching lots of browns and a few rainbows. At the advice of a friend that lives locally, we only fished when no generation was taking place, but that still left hours throughout the days we were there to be on the river. Our accommodations were first rate-clean, spacious, and stocked with all the kitchen gear we could possibly need. We got in later than we had planned the first night, so finding the cookies waiting for us was a welcome treat. Mr. Light was a delight to talk to and very helpful. We look forward to staying at Pappaw's many more times in the future.

Referral Source: We booked because we were immediately impressed with Mr. Light after talking to him on the phone. It wasn't until we talked to our friend that lives in the area that we realized that Pappaw's is located in one of the best fishing areas on the river.

The Stones

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Beautiful, peaceful place!
  
Guest: Debbie Spencer (Jacksboro, TN. 37757 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 8/30/13 - 9/3/13
  
What a pleasant surprise! My husband and I were headed to the NC Mountains and couldn't check in until a Tuesday. I had heard of Pappaw's and knew my husband would be beyond pleased to get to fish a few days on the South Holston. So we stayed at Pad #1 for 3 nights. In hindsight, I wish we had just stayed at Papaw's the whole week! When we arrived, Pappaw (Bob) had already been there to leave homemade cookies on the table! What a treat! Had to go out and buy milk! Wasn't a problem, there's a nice little country store not even 5 minutes away. My husband was up before daylight wading out into the water. Later I walked down to the picnic table with my coffee while he fished. I could just sit there for days! It was so tranquil and just simply a beautiful place. The pad had everything we needed and I was very impressed with how clean everything was. When you think of a "fishing pad", your not sure what to expect. But let me assure the ladies who may be staying that you will be pleased with the accommodations. Bob is just a treasure, and the perfect host. We will definitely be back!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
August 9th Long Weekend Vacation
  
Guest: Mitchell Key (Jackson, SC. 29831 USA)
  
Date of Stay: (4) Fri, Sat, Sun & Mon.
  
This is my second visit to Pappaw's Fishing Pad. The first visit was two years ago nearly to the day. I met the property owner Bob and was immediately impressed by his warm hospitality and caring attitude.  His accommodations were great as well. Pad 1 is great for parties of 5 or less and I really like the upstairs view of the river but Pad 2 is absolutely awesome and can handle as many as 7-9 people and is beautiful.

This last visit was a different experience than the first. On my first visit I was only able to fish one day for trout and had the most fun of my life. I caught nearly 30 trout in a 4 hour period and I couldn't believe it. I had health problems when I came back home that prevented me from coming back last year but could not get the fishing experience out of my conscious. I had been hooked by some of the best trout fishing that could be had and it all took place right at the river's edge on Pappaw's lot. I never waded or left the bank and it was amazing.

This last visit my brother came with me and Bob (property owner) arranged for us to take a canoe ride from the S. Holston Weir (just below the dam) to the river's edge of the property. I have been on many canoe journeys but none cut through the mountains and offer the scenery we were gifted with last Sunday. It was breathtakingly beautiful.

On this trip we met some friends (the people around the river seem to know no strangers and everyone is a potential friend) we were getting our fishing license at a local retail store and met a gentleman by the name of Kevin. We asked questions about what we should fish with and where to fish and he helped us tremendously. He also asked us if we were interested in striper fishing and we arranged an absolutely fabulous fishing trip to the exit of the Holston River at Boone Lake. My brother and I enjoyed two fantastic days of striper fishing then landed many fish and also allowed us the opportunity to meet two fine Tennessee gentleman that will, no doubt, become like family in the years to come. The names of the two guys are Kevin and Matt and the experience will be remembered for all our days. Thanks Bob (Pappaw's Fishing Pad) for again hosting and facilitating one of the best vacations we could have hoped for. Sincerely, Mitchell Key (Mitch)
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Fly Fishing Paradise
  
Guest: Penny Perez (Corryton, TN 37721 USA)
  
Date of Stay: not given
  
This place on the South Holston is absolutely amazing. The property is very well kept. We have stayed in both # 1 & # 2, and thoroughly enjoyed each of them. I was very pleased with each place, as they were both very clean and comfortable. Mr. Light ( the owner ) is very kind and accommodating.  I would and have recommended Pappaw's Fishing Pad to all of our fishing friends. The fishing at this part of the South Holston River is THE BEST....we will stay at Pappaw's Fishing Pad every chance we get.  As a matter of fact, I just reserved the RV for my husband for the weekend. If you are looking for a little piece of heaven on earth, then just book a stay at Pappaw's. Thank you Mr. Light for sharing your amazing property with my family.  See you real soon. The Perez Family
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Great Time and Great Fishing
  
Guest: Todd
  
Date of Stay: 4/10-4/14/13
  
Great place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. Bob is always there if you need something. Thanks for everything. Can't say enough. See you next year.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
What a FABULOUS TWO WEEKS!
  
Date of Stay: 11/11/2012
  
We had the privilege to fly fish for two weeks while staying in pad number 2. What a wonderful place we had! This is our way of "Camping": hot water, dishwasher, Kitchen Aid Mixer no doubt! ... Washer and Dryer!!! What a luxury to be away from home and have the capability to keep your clothes clean! The listing description was spot on including the pictures given. The property was clean and well maintained. The owner was absolutely FABULOUS! We would and have already... recommended the property to several people. We would recommend the Heartwood in as an attraction along with shopping downtown Bristol.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Can't wait to come back!!!
  
Guest: Fishing Club Friends
  
Date of Stay: August 2 - 5, 2012
  
We had visited Pappaw's when our fly fishing club booked it in June...it was awesome.  So in August we got another trip going and decided to stay there.  Bob was more than hospitable...we stayed downstairs for 3 nights and there was 7 of us.  Very comfortable, clean and spacious.  We had a ball from fishing to eating.  The kitchen, ladies,...is stocked with everything imaginable!  Kitchen Aid, George Foreman Grill, Convection oven, every kind of kitchen utensil you would think of needing is there!  Of course there is also an outdoor grill.  We definitely plan on coming back here again and again.  The location couldn't be any more perfect for relaxing but more so the fishing.  If you've got the time this is a place to stay at, you won't be disappointed.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Modern Day Mayberry
  
Guest: Derek (Blue Ridge, GA 30513 USA)
  
Date of Stay: June 19 - June 23
  
My wife and I were highly encouraged to visit the South Holston River by several of our friends and boy are we glad that we did! Bob was very accommodating and willing to do anything and everything to make sure our anniversary stay was the best. Our stay in Bluff City was like going back in time with the community fish fry and southern hospitality. The fishing in the South Holston right outside the door at Pappaw's Fishing Pad was the best on the whole river out of the several areas that I tried. We will be going back in the fall! Many thanks to Bob!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Can't wait to come back!
  
Guest: Mt. Juliet Fans (Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 7/4/12-7/8/12
  
We absolutely loved Pappaw's!  Pad #1 was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed to make for a wonderful stay. We fished a couple of days and one day just paddled our tandem kayak up and down the river. It was perfect. The only thing we recommend is waders if you plan on getting in the river at all. It was very cold! The Friday night fish fry is awesome too! Bob was a delightful host and is very concerned with his guests. If you are looking for a wonderful trip for a couple, family or a group this is perfect. The river is beautiful!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Awesome Vacation
  
Guest: Steve and Tammy Helton (North Carolina, USA)
  
Date of Stay: 5/27-6/2/12
  
Pappaw's Fishing Pad #1 was exactly what we had expected. It was clean, and the view was breath-taking. It was a great place to fish as well as just sit back and relax and watch the river rise and fall. We stayed for six days, and Bob came by frequently to make sure that everything was o.k. He treated us with down to earth southern hospitality. We are definitely going to be going back to Bob's Pappaw's Fishing Pad #1.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Fly Fishing so good the baby could do it.
  
Guest: Mike S. (Cincinnati, OH USA)
  
Date of Stay: 4/10/12-4/13/12
  
The Fly Fishing so good the baby could do it, literally.  My wife and I stood on the bank and hook fished with Dry Flies (light Cahills) and Rooster tails and handed the rod off to the kids, 2, 4, 5 and 6 yr olds. We caught them with rooster tails, nymphs, red worms. Had a 6 year old with me who drifted his own red worms and did good.

We never even left the cabin to fish. Didn't need to. The Pad was on the water, clean, comfortable, loaded with all the amenities you'd expect from much more expensive places with far inferior fishing. There's a Fish cleaning station on side of the cabin, if you want to keep them. The fire pit and gas grill were great! There was some competition for holes on the water, but more than enough fish to accommodate everyone.  I'll be back.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Great Place To Stay!
  
Guest: Riley Gudakunst (Blue Ridge, GA 30513 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 04/01/12-04/07/12
  
Papaw's Fishing Pad is a wonderful place to stay. I have been coming up to the South Holston River for many years and stayed at several different places. This one is one of the best.  It's clean, convenient, and has great fishing. I would not hesitate to refer anyone to come and stay here.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Great Time!
  
Guest: John Roegge (Roswell, GA 30075 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 2/23-2/25/12
  
Had a wonderful time here. Facilities were clean and comfortable. Will definitely be coming back.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Great place to stay to fish
  
Guest: Wayne Lewis (Honeoye, New York 14471 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 2/20-2/21/12
  
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at pad#1. Was a great place to come back to after a day on the water. Found everything to be clean and comfortable. Having the river within casting distance is too cool. We will be using this place to stay on our next trip. Short drive to Bristol to nice restaurants.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Angler's paradise on the SoHo
  
Guest: Dan Carr (Atlanta, GA 30327 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 2/3-2/5/12
  
My brother and I, avid fly anglers both, made our first pilgrimage to the South Holston without a clue as to where to stay. The local guides said that there was really only one good place, Pappaw's Fishing Pad. We stayed in Pad #1 and were completely satisfied with the accommodations.

It is nicely laid out, clean, comfortable beds and furniture, great kitchen and bathrooms, and has (most important after a hard day on the river) a good flat screen TV!  Another important advantage is that Webb's Store, a 5 minute drive away, serves excellent food and is a downright friendly place (we even had to argue the owner into accepting a tip for the meals).

What needs to be stressed to the angler is that this place is perfectly situated at the lower end of a long stretch of world-class year-round trout water. We were pleased to discover that, after a good day of drift boat fishing with guides upstream near the dam, the trout were biting even better right down by water's edge at Pappaw's.  A self-guided tube float from upstream down to Pappaw's, or from there to the next public access just downstream, or simply wade fishing by the property at low water, are all on our list of things to do when the little sulfur mayflies begin to come off this Spring.

Referral Source: The folks at South Holston River Fly Fishing up in Emmett TN said that this was the place to stay!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
October 2011 Fly Fishing
  
Guest: Manny Wray (Ft. Mill, South Carolina, USA)
  
Date of Stay: October 27 thru 30 2011
  
Five of us arrived for a long weekend of fly fishing the South Holston.

Upon arrival, I walked down to the river and immediately saw 2 brown trout(10-inch+) jump clear out of the water! To say I was ready to go fishing at that point is an understatement.

We were quite impressed with Pad #1 and the spot on the river. The pictures don't do it justice. During our stay we found the accommodations to be excellent. Bob has done a great job in updating the place and making it quite comfortable. There really wasn't anything we needed, which wasn't already there. It is also convenient to Webb's store where you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner if you want. We ate breakfast every morning at Webb's, they open at 5:30AM and you can't beat the price, food and hospitality. They even cater in if you want!

Fishing the Holston is completely dependent on the generation schedule. In the mornings, we fished right there at Pappaw's. At the lower end of the property the water feeds into a large deep pool, above that it is a long stretch of medium depth runs and riffles. We caught several trout, including a couple 15-inchers. The river here, both upstream and at Pappaw's is very easy for wading, but at the same time it is some very good trout water.

I was glad to finally meet Bob the last day of our visit. He showed me around Pad #2 and also the RV, I was equally impressed as we were with Pad #1. He is a very welcoming and genuine good guy. He even asked me if there was anything I would add/change to make the place better. Honestly, I couldn't think of anything.

Pappaw's is definitely on our map as "the place to stay" when we fish the SoHo. It is comfortable and convenient for fishing anywhere on the Holston. We really did enjoy ourselves and will be back. Bob mentioned wanting to try fly fishing someday. All I can say is when he decides he's ready, I'd be glad to show him the ropes. He's already got the location right there at Pappaw's Fishing Pad!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Fall 2011 group trip
  
Guest: Ben (Virginia, USA)
  
Date of Stay: October 2011
  
A group of nine guys from my local fly tying club booked the larger cabin for a weekend in October, and couldn't have been more pleased. This is a really nice place! Not only is it clean, but it is nicely updated and has a kitchen with everything you could need (just bring the food and drinks!).

We were a little concerned about fitting nine people in, but there was plenty of room to add some extra army cots and an air mattress in the bedrooms and living room.

The living room, kitchen, and dining room are all open, which made for a great area to hang out in the evenings. There were people cooking, eating, watching football, and tying flies all in the same area.

The setting was also excellent. We could hang waders under the porch then walk right into the river less than 100 feet from the door. The location also makes it an easy drive to other access points from the dam down to Bluff City. Of course the big draw is trout, and they did not disappoint.

The owner, Bob, was excellent to deal with. It was clear that he treats his customers like he would want to be treated. Overall, I would highly recommend this place to anyone, from groups of 2 or 3 to groups as large as ours.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
I needed to get a way for a little solitude
  
Guest: Mitch (Augusta Ga. 30907 USA)
  
Date of Stay: 08/14/11-08/18/11
  
Iím a 49 years old man going through a divorce after being married to my wife of 30 years and needed desperately to get away from everything for a little while.

I was looking for peace and quiet not necessarily a fishing vacation and the property looked appealing on the internet. I arranged a 4 night stay with the owner who was one of the most courteous men I have ever met. He didnít make me secure the property with a credit card or require me to jump through the many hoops that are typical for this type of stay. He simply took me at my word Ė he is a true gentleman.

I arrived late my first night (1:30am) and had to call him for specific directions to the house. He helped guide me straight to the property and wasnít angry for me waking him up.

The first couple of days I caught up on some paperwork sitting down by the river on a picnic table while watching a multitude of fly fisherman catching some of the most beautiful trout I have ever laid my eyes on.

By my second day I couldnít stand it any longer and went for my fishing license. I caught more trout in a day and a half than I have caught in my entire life and learned soo much from the local fisherman concerning the river and how to catch the fish. They were all friendly and courteous.

My stay was absolutely wonderful, the room, the view and the river were all excellent and the owner even allowed me to use a spare rod/reel to do my fishing. You simply donít run across people like this very often anymore.

I will plan as many trips as possible to this location in the future. It was great.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, age 55+
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Nice stay on the S Holston River
  
Guest: Peter C (Durham, NC)
  
Date of Stay: 08/26 thru 08/28 Review Submitted: 08/28/11
  
Nice setting on the river with good fishing access. Clean & comfortable trailer with very responsive management/owner. Will definitely rent again.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Husband and wife -- here to fish!
  
Guest: Marie (Tampa Bay area - Florida)
  
Date of Stay: 07/29 thru 08/01 Review Submitted: 08/04/11
  
My husband and I recently spent a long weekend (Friday - Monday) at Pawpaw's Fishing Pad. We travel a lot for business and pleasure and generally stay at very nice hotels. But this trip was meant to be a fishing trip and we intentionally selected a location directly on the river we intended to fish.

My initial contact with the owner of this property, Bob Light, was very positive. He discussed his property's attributes, offered assistance upon arrival and at any time needed during our stay. Our reservation was set at that time. Upon arriving about 30 minutes from our cabin, I called Bob as we had planned and he gave me specific details so that we could locate the fishing pad. He also gave advice as to where to purchase groceries before arriving and where to eat locally (for sure at Webbís!) and he again sincerely offered that we call him at any time during the stay for any assistance needed.

Our cabin on the river was all and more than promised/expected. It was a lovely, comfortable little 2 bedroom, recently renovated and very clean. It had a large and well equipped kitchen (although I donít cook) and It was right on the river. At least once during our stay we connected with Bob and as he had during previous contacts --- he made sure all was okay and he offered assistance at any time. Upon departure we coordinated meeting Bob personally. He was a very gracious host, with a wonderful property, in a fantastic fishing location. We couldnít have asked for more.

Our greatest compliment to Bob and to his property is that we absolutely will return and plan to stay at Pawpaw's Fishing Pad on our next visit to this area.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Excellent Place
  
Guest: Al (Fincastle, VA)
  
Date of Stay: 06/21/11 Review Submitted: 06/27/11
  
Spent two short nights at Pappaw's #2 recently. Have stayed at several places in the area and this is by far the best. Everything was sparkling clean and fresh. River access was excellent. Look forward to a return SOON! One fine facility and one fine person!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
A Place to Relax
  
Guest: CM
  
Date of Stay: 05/21 thru 05/26 Review Submitted: 06/28/11
  
Our week at the unit on the South Holston River was a peaceful and relaxing time. At any time we could see wild ducks swimming. In the mornings there were fishermen in the water pulling in the big ones. When water was released from the dam in the afternoons we saw people in canoes and rafts. It was nice sitting and eating by the water. the cabin was comfortable and had all that we needed.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Strike Indicator
  
Guest: Conley Brown
  
Date of Stay: 06/18/2011 thru 06/21/2011 Review Submitted: 06/23/11
  
I stayed with 5 other fishermen for three nights and four days.† We found the accommodations to be excellent.† Everything we needed was there and more, to make our stay comfortable. The view of the river is outstanding and beautiful. The fishing is very good and right in front of the apartment.† I drove by in January and noticed the sign.† We will come again.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Excellent Place
  
Guest: Al (Fincastle, VA)
  
Date of Stay: 06/21 - 6/23 Review Submitted: 06/27/11
  
Spent two short nights at Pappaw's #2 recently. Have stayed at several places in the area and this is by far the best. Everything was sparkling clean and fresh. River access was excellent. Look forward to a return SOON! One fine facility and one fine person!
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Fishing Trip - Great Place to Stay
  
Guest: tightlines (Glenview, IL)
  
Date of Stay: 04/13/11 Review Submitted: 05/10/11
  
We had four guys stay at Pappaw's Fishing Pad for a long weekend in April. We really enjoyed the place, was right on the river and you can literally walk out through the yard and fish the river! The owner (Bob) checked in often and ensured we had everything we needed. We all would very strongly recommend Pappaw's for a fishing weekend or family stay. Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Weekend Fishing Trip
  
Guest: JG (Georgia)
  
Date of Stay: 05/29/10 Review Submitted: 05/03/11
  
This is a great location with easy river access. Didn't spend much time indoors, fishing was awesome. Cabin was Very clean with everything we needed. Will definitely use again. Thanks Bob.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
MIKE--BLUFF CITY,TN
  
Guest: Mike (Bluff City, TN USA)
  
Date of Stay: 01/01/11 Review Submitted: 01/28/11
  
SINCE 1975, MY BROTHERS AND I HAVE ALWAYS FISHED PAPPAW'S FISHING PAD. BEING FROM HERE HAS GIVEN US THE ADVANTAGE OF KNOWING THE VERY BEST SPOTS ON THE RIVER AND THIS IS THE BEST. EVEN TWRA CLOSES THE FISHING ON THIS 1/2 MILE STRETCH DURING JANUARY BECAUSE OF THE VAST NUMBER OF FISH,STOCKING AND SPAWNING AT THIS PROPERTY. WE HAVE TAKEN SO MANY LARGE TROUT FROM THIS SITE. THIS YEAR, I GOT A 24INCH BROWN OUT OF THE 2 FOOT RAPIDS. I KNOW THE ENTIRE RIVER AND IF YOU LET BOB KNOW IN ADVANCE I WOULD BE GLAD TO MEET ANYONE TO SHOW THEM THE HOT SPOTS .

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Weekend Fishing Trip
  
Guest: fatherpaul (Louisville, KY)
  
Date of Stay: 11/05/10 Review Submitted: 11/09/10
  
A buddy of mine and I just stayed at "pappaw's fishing pad" this past weekend and had a great time. The owner, Bob, really went out of his way to see to it that we had everything we needed and felt welcomed. The house is situated right on the banks of the South Holston River at a location known as "Webb Bridge."

The accommodations were quite nice, recently remodeled. Cable TV and internet hook-up was a real nice extra. There is a charcoal grill and a fire pit in a nice-sized yard along the river's edge to relax at after a day's fishing, or to just sit and watch the river go by.

The scenery and wildlife here is quite nice. The fishing on the South Holston really is exceptional. This was our third trip to the area and we will definitely be calling Bob again for another reservation in the future. You will not be disappointed with this rental.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Mike & Amy
  
Guest: Mike & Amy
  
Date of Stay: 09/01/10 Review Submitted: 09/12/10
  
We decided to stay at Pappaw's Fishing Pad because it seemed to have everything we were looking for. As it turned out, this place had much more than what we expected. Thanks to Bob. We had planned to get away for my birthday and wanted to do nothing but relax and to go fishing every chance we got.

When we arrived, I was so surprised to see that Bob had a birthday present for me on the table. The place was very clean, cozy and comfortable inside and out. We had a nice place to sit and grill out on the deck with a great view of the river. We especially enjoyed having our morning coffee on the deck watching the fog on the river. Another place we found very relaxing was the swing below the deck. There is a nice spot down by the river with a picnic table to enjoy lunch.

Bob had Mike (one of his friends) come by to give us some pointers on how to hook a trout as long as my leg. Well, it got away, but I'll get him next time! Thanks Mike for your support and all the laughs. We were having such a good time we decided to stay an extra night. We highly recommend this place and we will be back. Thanks Bob, Mike & Amy

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
Great hospitality! Peaceful and relaxing stay!
  
Guest: Karoline (Clarksville,TN)
  
Date of Stay: 08/19/10 Review Submitted: 08/25/10
  
At Pappaw's Fishing Pad you get everything listed and more. It's right on the river with plenty of room to fish, sit around by the fire, or play a game with your kids. We called a month out and were truly lucky to find this place.

I was a little unsure of what all was provided and what we needed to bring, but Bob was very helpful in answering all of our questions ahead of time so we could properly pack. When we arrived he had the lights on for us (since we came in at night) and he had placed home grown vegetables in the kitchen for us to eat.

The place was clean and there were plenty of amenities to make it feel like home including a phone, as cell phone reception isn't always the best out there. Bob recommended several places to eat in the area and we checked out the Country Kitchen/Kettle for lunch one day. Absolutely fabulous country cooking by the nicest ladies. The main reason for our trip was the NASCAR Sprint Cup in Bristol. Pappaw's Fishing Pad is about 6 miles from the race track... a perfect driving distance as it is away from the hustle and bustle of it all. If you're looking for a place to relax, this is the place.

It's very refreshing to rent a place from someone who treats you like family from the beginning to the end. I will recommend this place to all of my family and friends looking to travel to Bristol and intend on coming to stay here again in the future. Thanks for the wonderful hospitality Bob!

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.
  

Vacation Rental for Fishing in Tennessee - Reviews
 
Site Map  
Copyright © , Bob Light & Tri-Cities Web Solutions, All Rights Reserved
Serving Gatlinburg, Tennessee and Bluff City, Tennessee