. . . Our Vacation Rentals are Perfect for . . .

Where all you need to bring is Companionship and Food

Pappaw’s Reviews Summary

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 118 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%
Read the Google Reviews

See additional reviews that customers wrote on Google

Pappaw’s South Holston River Vacation Rental Reviews From Past Customers


Delightful time

Rated 0 out of 5
2022-12-01

Dear Bob,

What a delightful time we have had through the years here with our grandsons– all four of them!

Tom and I may be back someday if time allows but if not God Bless you and prosper your business here.

Thanks again!

Tom and Judy

Gracious Hospitality

Rated 0 out of 5
2022-12-01

Tome and I thank you for your gracious hospitality. Pad 2 was perfect for us… Had everything anyone could ask for…perfect!! Sure hope we see you again next year!

Denny and Tom

Awesome

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-11-29

The was awesome for us! We really appreciate it! Lord willing we will be back! Thank You

Ayla and Kyle Curtis

Masterson Family Cape Cod Mass

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-09-18

Another fine stay on the river! Good fishing and good racing.

Date of Stay: 9/14/22 – 9/18/22

Patrick Masterson

Thank you so much!

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-08-25

Pappaw, Thanks so much for your hospitality. We loved staying here and meeting you and your family. Please keep our Marshmellow girl and boy for us & think of the fun we had at the firepit.

Date of Stay: August 2022

Linda

A Wonderful Vacation

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-08-21

Pappaw, The entire family had a wonderful vacation & it was great to meet you. You were such a gracious host. Thank you for the extra cookies that you brought us. They were delicious. Both fishing Pad 1 and Pad 2 were beautiful. This was our first time staying at Pappaw’s Fishing Pads. Fishing wasn’t the best, but it was enjoyable being with family, relaxing and listening to the river as it burbled along over rocks and branches, while watching wildlife gather along the river bank. Both homes & property are beautiful and well stocked with whatever you may need. A special bonus to our stay was getting to see the beautiful eagle twice. God Bless you Pappaw Bob.

Date of Stay: 8/17/22-8/21/22

The Bishop's, Bowen's and Lane's

Coming Back Next Year!

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-07-29

Thank you. We had a great time, fishing was not to good caught 2 small trout but returned them to get bigger for our next trip. Thank you Bob for having dinner with us and we had an awesome break away. Be blessed till we meet again.

Date of Stay: July 25-29, 2022

Sidney and Marc (South Africa)

Daughter, Grand Sons, and Grand Dogs had fun

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-06-26

Pad 1 was wonderful. It was very clean. We had enough space for everyone. Our grandsons with were 8,8 and 7 enjoyed every moment. The washer and dry made life very comfortable. Bob was a joy. He came by to meet and greet us. Thank you Bob

Date of Stay: June 22-26, 2022

Mitch(Hogansville, GA 30230)

We had a great time!

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-06-26

We will be back! Thanks Bob!

Date of Stay: June 26, 2022

Linda and James

Very Nice!

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-06-16

Enjoyed the time here and talking to Pappaw. Hope to see you again soon at your little piece of Heaven!

Date of Stay: June 16, 2022

Tom and Julie

Great time on the River

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-06-15

We had a great time on the river today. Enjoyed the place and you as always. Look forward to next time. Thanks for Everything!

Date of Stay: June 15th, 2022

John

Beautiful Space

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-06-12

Thank You for allowing us to enjoy this Beautiful space. I look forward to staying again in the near future.

Date of Stay: June 12, 2022

Sue Malloy

Great Fishing

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-06-05

We had a great time! Great Fishing! Can’t wait until next year! We love you Pappaw!

Date of Stay: June 5, 2022

The Parks

5 Star ***** reviews are well deserved!

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-06-02

Thoroughly enjoyed my 4 night 5 day stay!

It’s very obvious Bob cares about his guests. Every little detail is thought through.

All his guests love him. And almost all are repeat customers!

This was my first time and I will be back!

Thanks Bob!

Date of Stay: June 2, 2022

JP (New Orleans, LA 70115 USA)

Life Is Good

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-05-18

Mom, Dad, Son and Wife. We had an awesome time. Caught several brownies right off the stairs. Thank you very much for a wonderful time.

Date of Stay: May 16-18, 2022

Tony & Carol Sparacio Mike & Tammy Sparacio (Bristol) Thanks Mr Bob. Mike's Mom (Covington LA)

Great Place

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-05-16

Great place, so beautiful. We had a wonderful time. Great weather and fellowship. 5 guys from Chas SC Loved it. Thank you so much.

Date of Stay: May 13-16, 2022

Travis (Chas SC)

I can't thank you enough

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-05-16

I can’t thank you enough for my time on the river. The fishing this year wasn’t great but the memories with my four friends are priceless. I can’t wait to come back next year and stand in the water and forget all my worries.

Date of Stay: May 13-16, 2022

Steven Azzarella

DID NOT DISAPPOINT!

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-01-01

Made a spur of the moment decision to fish the South Holston and Watauga for New Years. It did not disapoint. We really enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to come back!

Date of Stay: January 1, 2022

Michael A Gentry

Awesome Place!

Rated 5 out of 5
2022-01-01

Great Cabin, Great Fishing! Will be back next year!

Date of Stay: January 1, 2022

Daphyn, Bradly, Tajen

3rd Trip Back!

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-10-19

We love it here. We are celebrating a birthday and wedding anniversary. Well as hard as we tried, we had no luck with the fish. 🙁  We had a lovely time and we will be back again. Thank you Pappaw Bob!

Date of Stay: 10/17/2021 – 10/19/2021

Christi & Alan Hinote (Knoxville, TN)

Raining Trout!

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-10-17

Our grandson had his first float trip. Court and Pop each caught 6 brook trout even in the rain! Had a great time.

Date of Stay: 10/17/2021

Jay, Katy & Court White

Caught 50 when on the move!

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-10-10

No fish afternoon of 8th – great place! Saturday: tough morning but great float – caught 50!

Date of Stay: 10/8/2021-10/10/2021

Robert Shy (Memphis, TN) and Bill Mathis & Reid Mitchell (Nashville, TN)

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-10-08

It was so good to be back! Thankful to be able to come back and look forward to returning! We had such a good time!  Love you all!

Date of Stay: 10/8/2021

Keg & Tom Grott

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-10-01

Had a Great Time!

Date of Stay: 10/1/2021

John, Allen, Sarah, Kylie Nelson

Fishing and-a cookin' and "Uh, can you say SMORES?"

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-09-19

Had a great time fishing and cooking on the grill and also making smores with the kids. We would stay again. They provided everything you need in the kitchen.

Date of Stay: 9/19/2021

Jeannie Ruschak

I'm their kid: (WINS THE AWARD FOR THE SWEETEST REVIEW EVER!!!)

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-08-15

Hi, I’m in Catlin. This is my first night staying here. It’s a very beautiful place. I’m not the ones who rented this place. I’m their kid. It felt kind a like home.

Date of Stay: 8/15/2021

Red

Great area and great river.

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-08-03

Enjoyed the fishing, the quiet, and had great weather too. House had everything we could have asked for. We promise to tell others about this place. Our dog Lacey enjoyed it as well. Thank you very much for a most relaxing stay.

Date of Stay: 8/1-8/3/2021

Gene and Marcia from Harrison Tennessee

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-07-29

Laura and I came to fish, relax, have fun and fellowship. We accomplished all. Your place is beautiful and we will be back.

Date of Stay: 7/29/2021

Laura Kennedy and Mary Clonal

Three loves? Wow!

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-07-23

We love this place and the owner is a wonderful man. We love him very much! Absolutely love this place. Thanks!

Date of Stay: 7/23/2021

The Keys

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-07-12

Loved it! Will be back.

Date of Stay: 7/12/2021

John and Jeannie Mauldin

Bob, take a squat:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-06-30

Bob, Thank you so much for the use of your wonderful place. And thanks for joining us for dinner. Hope to see you again soon.

Date of Stay: 6/30/2021

Gary and Sean

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-06-27

Thank you so much for your hospitality. This is a beautiful place and we look forward to visiting again.

Date of Stay: 6/27/2021

Cook family Leroy, Mary, Andy, Tammy and Mylo

Fishing at Pappaw's can also take care of your sweet tooth!

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-06-27

We had a great time! Great fishing! We will visit again soon! Thanks for the cookies and strawberries! See you soon!

Date of Stay: 6/21-6/27/2021

Ken - Angie Parks and Wesley, Amy, Judson, Houston Griffin

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-06-05

Great stay as always. Always a good getaway from the grind – we will be back again. Cannot beat the accommodations and great service. See you next year!!

Date of Stay: 5/31-6/5/2021

Jared, Chuck, Chuck Jr., Glen, Tom, John

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-05-30

Bob! Wow, I have been here before but it’s been about 5 years ago. This place is amazing! You have attended to every detail! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Good fishing too!! God bless!

Date of Stay: 5/29-5/30/2021

David Hill

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-05-20

Bob, Gene here parentheses (Glen) We love you and your home. Thank you always for having us and being so kind.

Gene (Glen)

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-05-18

We really enjoyed our stay, beautiful home, and wonderful location. Pappaw went above and beyond to make our stay nice. We will definitely be back. Thanks!

Date of Stay: 5/18/2021

Betty P

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-05-17

You’re so amazing Pappaw. The cookies were absolutely delightful!! Was a perfect weekend coming into town for wedding and fishing! We will be back! Thank you so much. *God bless always!!

Wendy and Rodger Whaley, Sevierville Tennessee

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-05-17

WOW! This place was phenomenal! We came for a wedding and this was just convenient but turned out it was the best decision ever! Pappaw you have a beautiful place, and we enjoyed every single little detail! We will be back!!

Date of Stay: 5/14-5/17/2021

Anonymous

Good times on the SOHO

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-05-02

Best spot we’ve found on the SOHO/Watauga for a guys trip!!! Pappaw is the best and he keeps his property in pristine condition. We had 9 guys in Pad 1 and 2 and it was perfect. Will be back again next year!!!

Date of Stay: 4/29/21 to 5/2/21

Richard Hirth (Charlotte, NC)

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-04-06

Had a super time (again!) Great accommodations and super Hospitality from Bob (Pappaw)! Looking forward to our next stay already!

Date of Stay: 4/6/2021

Mark Thuler

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-03-25

Pappaw’s fishing pad is a heaven on Earth! Got to meet Pappaw, himself, and catch lots of fish! Although short lived here – we will definitely find our way back here as often as possible! Thanks for all the hospitality – we’ve absolutely adored our stay

Date of Stay: 3/25/2021

Kelly, Aaron, and Logan

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-03-17

We enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful home, very clean. Thanks Pappaw!

Date of Stay: 3/14-3/17/2021

The Heimels

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2021-01-03

Lovely home, couldn’t have asked for anything better. Learned how to fly fish with my dad.

Taylor – 7

Dad – 3   🙂

Date of Stay: 1/1-1/3/2021

The Yonemura's

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2020-12-28

Loved our time at Pappaw’s. Caught fish, played in the snow, and made great memories. Hope to come back soon. Thank you from Mississippi.

Date of Stay: 12/23-12/28/2020

The McCann's and the Anderson's

Note left in Unit:

Rated 5 out of 5
2020-09-16

Enjoyed our stay at Pappaw’s as always. Want to make it a yearly tradition. Plenty of Fish, loads of fun, lots of love and family. Thank you all very much. God bless!!!

Date of Stay: 9/12-9/16/2020

The Brown's and Taylor's

Wonderful Time

Rated 5 out of 5
2020-07-15

Wonderful Time! Great place to stay. Will be back! Thanks so much.

Chris Stanley

RV Rental on South Holston River

Rated 5 out of 5
2020-06-26

Our unit, bathroom, kitchen and staff members were excellent.

Date of Stay: 6/26/2020

Wanda and Faith

Best Place on the River

Rated 5 out of 5
2020-06-10

Fish this area often. Pappaw’s is a great find. I will return often. 5 Stars all around!

Jimmy Edwards (Spartanburg, SC 29302 USA)

The most comfortable fishing rental I've every stayed in!

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-12-27

The unit was spotless. The beds were very comfortable and sheets were clean and nice. The kitchen was better equipped than mine! We’ll be back!

Date of Stay: 12/27/2019-12/8/2019

Frank Paisley (Lexington, KY 40502 USA)

Always Great

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-12-17

We love Pappaw’s! It is always a comfortable, clean, relaxing place to enjoy our evening time inbetween fishing. Thank you!

Date of Stay: 12/16-12/17/19

Galen Kipar (Asheville Fly Fishing Co.)

Great Trip! Tons of Fun!

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-11-14

Great trip, very clean and lots of fish to catch. We would stay here again. Rainbow and brown trout are abundant. Great fishing.

Date of Stay: 11/14/2019

Luke Kirkman (Mount Airy, NC 27030 USA)

Can't wait +.22 next time

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-10-27

Cabin was clean, comfortable, down home atmosphere. Very friendly and cookies were good! Will be coming back.

Date of Stay: 10/25-27/2019

Ron Wheeler and Jeanne (Maryville, TN 37801 USA)

Was in the R.V. and glad someone told me to rent this!

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-10-10

Great place to spend a couple of days just fishing and relaxing.

Date of Stay: 10/8-10/2019

Billy - Ray (Crossville, TN Austin, TX 78747 USA)

A Ten Star Review for a Rental on the South Holston

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-09-26

Incredibly well stocked was Pad #2! You have everything needed plus more! Thank you Pappaw! Enjoyed the stay and of course the cookies.  Our 1st visit here in 2018, Patrick Fulkrod recommended Pappaw’s.  We hiked the 1st time and enjoyed it this time as well.

Date of Stay: 9/26/2019

Jack and Betsy

Fishing on the South Holston and eating cookies!

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-09-20

We spent 6 glorious days on the unbelievable fishing river – the South Holston, wading & floating.  To make it even more special was that we stayed at Pappaw’s Fishing Pad, which sits right on the bank of one of the best fishing spots right outside our front door.  The Pad was very comfortable with very nice furniture, and had all the comforts of a well stocked kitchen of dishes and appliances.  We were told by one of the guides about Pappaw’s and we couldn’t have bee happier.  It was very clean and welcoming with comfortable beds.  Our host, Bob Light, checked in with us to make sure all was well – and delivered fresh cookies!

Date of Stay: 9/15-9/20/19

Chris and Cliff Collier (Austin, TX 78747 USA)

Fly Fishing Guide said Pappaw's is Great!

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-09-15

Booked upon recommendation of Fly Fishing Guide. Very pleased with unit. Clean, Comfortable AND Right on the Water! Will be back! Thanks!

Jim & John (Raleigh, NC 27615 USA)

Great spot on the South Holston

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-08-27

This is a great spot right on the river. There is good fishing 75ft from the backdoor and a great yard to play horseshoes with friends or family.

Date of Stay: 8/25-8/27/2019

Beth M. (Charlotte, NC USA)

What a Hidden Gem!

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-08-11

Thank you so much. What a hidden Gem. Lots of fishing and wonderful rest. So perfectly laid out for us. Clean. Comfortable. Just Perfect. See you again! Thanks!

Date of Stay: 08/11/2019

The Gregg Family

Spotless & comfortable Rental unit on the South Holston for Fishing

Rated 5 out of 5
2019-05-09

We really enjoy Pad #2. We love your location. Also we never have had a problem with noise and the view is spectacular. Everything works and the bathrooms are really clean. Booking again for 2020. That’s the biggest compliment.

Date of Stay: May 7-9, 2019

Tony Brancaccio (Cary, NC 27518 USA)

Would Pappaw adopt me?

Rated 5 out of 5
2018-10-22

Pappaw’s Fishing Pad is the dream home I’ve always wanted! Wonderful accommodations with a fully stocked kitchen, wireless internet, and 75′ to the South Holston River! Pappaw (Bob Light) and his staff are constantly working to make the Fishing Pads inviting and welcoming.Easy access from Bristol and Bluff City, 10 minutes from the South Holston Fly Shop. Guide Brody Green put us on many fish and we also fished right there at the Fishing Pad! I can’t recommend Pappaw’s highly enough. We will be back -SOON!

Date of Stay: October 21-22, 2018

Chuck Traylor (Crossville, TN 38571 USA)

Would Recommend to Anyone

Rated 5 out of 5
2018-10-07

My son, Danny Holt, and I stayed at Pawpaws this weekend. Loved it. Great facilities, clean, modern (for a fishing pad), and very comfortable. Owner, Bob Light (aka Pawpaw) is very easy to work with. It’s also right in the middle of some great trout fishing. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of Stay: 10/07/2018

The Holt's

We've Become Pappaw's Regulars

Rated 5 out of 5
2018-07-13

This is our third year at Pappaw’s and frankly, we can’t imagine staying anywhere else on the river. It is seldom that you encounter accommodations so clean, well-kept, and professionally managed. How pleasant it is to sit by the water after a good dinner with a glass of wine and watch your cares drift away with the current!

Date of Stay: 7/11/18-7/13/18

John F. Carson (North Canton USA)

Planning to come back!!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
2018-06-15

Great place to get away and relax from the stress of everyday life – we had an amazing time! It was a pleasure to actually meet Bob. He is so wonderful to make your accomodations and vacation great even down to the best fishing spots. My son was very appreciative ?? We were welcomed with homemade cookies in our rental and it couldn’t have been any cleaner or nicer – thank you Linda! I don’t normally ever post reviews but this is worth posting and definitely a place we will return!

Date of Stay: June 2018

Susan Moore (Radford, VA 24141 USA)

Our 3rd Anniversary

Rated 5 out of 5
2018-04-15

Well we’re back home again after spending our 3rd year in a row at Pappaws camp fly fishing the SoHo. Lynn left Pad#2 spotless as always. Before the trip I had inquired about the smoker that was onsite last year, on its last legs. Bob purchased a brand new smoker for us! and we were very appreciative. Bob is the perfect host, leaving the trademark cookies as always. In our case the river was not the same, as the dam was sluicing lake water causing the usual wade-able water to flow at an unusually high/fast rate, which affected the hatches (not Bob’s fault of course). We made the best of it by visiting the Watauga where we had better luck. In any event, Bob has a winning combination of fine quality premises where everything is supplied for you – all you need is your food and drink, rods/reels/&flies. Looking forward to next year!

Date of Stay: April 2016, 2017, 2018

Buffalo Soldiers (USA)

Muscovy duck & more

Rated 5 out of 5
2018-03-24

Out of the way but beautiful, enjoyed a quiet, peaceful and solitary lunch break here. One of lost adventures back before the days of GPS and caring about schedule. A great memory we have of that day. First time seeing a Muscovy duck and it was a sight for sure! Plenty to explore. Have often thought of this place.

Date of Review: 3/24/2018

Donald Hogsed

Beauty in Bluff City

Rated 5 out of 5
2017-07-15

My mother and I had the privilege of staying at PawPaw’s Fishing Pad #2 on July 13-15, 2017. Located just steps from the river, the scenery in every direction is beautiful and relaxing! We were extremely pleased with how large Pad #2 was, while still giving you a cozy, quaint atmosphere. Plus, it was immaculate and offered every amenity you could possibly want. Bobby Light and his staff were amazingly kind, helpful and most welcoming. Fisherman or just traveling in general, I would highly recommend PawPaw’s Fishing Pad to anyone planning a visit to the TriCities area. I know we will definitely be back soon and plan to stay longer and enjoy that beautiful view!

Date of Stay: July 13-15, 2017

Christina Capps (Birmingham)

Awesome!!

Rated 5 out of 5
2017-06-15

What a great place to relax, fish & just sit on the bank of the river & enjoy the peace & quiet!! Fishing was great!! Campfire was great!! We stayed in Pad #2 & it was spotless! Thank you, Lynn, for keeping it so clean & tidy & well-stocked!! Howard & his fishing buddy, Frank, stayed there again in June 2017 & caught so many fish with their fishing guide Jimmy Cheers!! We all will be back again soon!!

Date of Stay: Feb 2017 & June 2017

Howard and Shirley (Afton, VA 22920 USA)

Happy Place

Rated 5 out of 5
2017-05-21

Been coming to Pappaws for several years. The fishing is outstanding and accommodations are great! Always a relaxing time when we come and always get into some Big fish. Thanks for having us again looking forward to our next visit.

Date of Stay: 5/18-21/2017

Bob, Maryann (Cartersville, Ga 30121 USA)

Great for everybody - even Pappaw's Webmaster!

Rated 5 out of 5
2017-04-29

I built Pappaw’s Fishing Pad website back in 2010 and still remain his loyal webmaster. My husband was on vacation and it was also my youngest daughter’s 18th birthday (that’s her big sister in the header above under Honeymoon, by the way), so we drug the boyfriend along and headed to Pappaw’s for the weekend. The guys enjoyed fishing right outside the door of the R.V. and we all enjoyed the rest of the family who came to the fire-pit and picnic area for hotdogs and S’mores the first evening for the birthday celebration. We rented the R.V. and were allowed to take our two dogs. The R.V. was extremely clean and had everything we needed, including the cookies, of course. ?? We sent my poor husband on a wild goose chase trying to find some firewood for the fire pit. He got lost. Ha Ha! So finally I called Pappaw and asked if there were any places that sold firewood. He said, “It’s there under the bridge.” Pappaw really took care of all our needs! It was pretty funny when my husband returned and we showed it to him only a few feet from where he had been fishing. Pappaw’s is a really quiet and nice place to stay and I’m glad we were finally able to stay there and get away for a weekend. I would recommend to anyone any of the beautiful units as well as the R.V. (especially when I’m the one that gets your emailed reviews and post them and I know they’re real reviews, so that speaks volumes to me as far as staying here and recommending Pappaw’s).

Date of Stay: 4/28/17 – 4/29/17

The Whittimore Family (Elizabethton, TN 37643 USA)

Very Relaxing place to stay during Bristol Drag Races

Rated 5 out of 5
2016-06-19

There were three of us that stayed: my husband, my brother-in law and myself. We purchased tickets to NHR drag races in Bristol. We were tired of staying at motels, so found PaPaws on line and we stayed in Pad 1. It was very clean and all the comforts of home. The first night we were there we sat on the deck and listened to the water run. Very relaxing, very nice place to stay just to get away from all the hustle and bustle of the business world.

Date of Stay: 6/16/16 – 6/19/16

The Middletons (Lancaster, Ky 40444 USA)

A little slice of Heaven

Rated 5 out of 5
2016-06-12

My 2 sons and I rented the RV for our annual Father’s Day fishing trip. The RV is situated right on the SOHO so all we had to do was step off the deck and we were fishing. Everything was great, very clean, very comfy beds and Bob even had cookies waiting for us. The RV even has a radio system that is hooked up in every room, flat screen TV, fire pit that we used every night, a full sized shower, great AC and a picnic table right by the river. Who could ask for anything more?

Date of Stay: 6/9-6/12/16

David Spatz (Peachtree City, USA)

Just can't say enough about this little slice of heaven!

Rated 5 out of 5
2016-05-30

We just can’t say enough good things about Pappaw’s wonderful fishing pad! My family and I spent Memorial weekend there and we couldn’t be happier! Stocked with everything you need, great customer service, beautiful view and more. Thanks so much Pappaw for your hospitality. We can’t wait to come back in July for another fun weekend visit!

Date of Stay: Memorial Weekend 2016

Vanessa & Ken (Charleston, SC 29492 USA)

FLY FISHERMAN.....RENT THIS CABIN!!

Rated 5 out of 5
2016-05-26

A buddy and I were planning a quick fly fishing trip to the South Holston and our guide recommended we try to stay at Pappaw’s. Fortunately Bob had a vacancy.

The property sits on great water. In fact, our guide picked us up on our first full day and we did not move more than 500 yards from Pappaw’s. We fished from his drift boat and landed 30+ nice trout including several in the 20″ range. Evenings and mornings were spent wading in the channel in front of the property catching healthy, strong fish. I’d estimate there is 200 yards of wadable water in front of the property including a few nice channels, runs, pools and riffles.

The cabin is great, beds are comfortable, all appliances first class (our unit even had a dishwasher), plenty of hot water, all utensils and linens. Heck, the gas grill even had plenty of gas for steaks and burgers.

You may pay a few bucks less in town but the value of being on the water, close to fish in a spectacular setting is WELL worth the added cost.

Date of Stay: 5/24/16 to 5/26/16

Paul Melgaard (Brentwood, TN USA)

20th anniversary delight

Rated 5 out of 5
2016-04-20

This was our 20th anniversary get away. We came for Bristol NASCAR and was so blessed to get to stay at Pappaw’s fishing pad. It was so relaxing being right on the river… I mean just steps from our deck to the river. Sitting by the fire and listening to the river at night ..just heaven. Bob was such a pleasure. He was on top of everything..he said all you need is your hubby and food and he meant it..everything provided. We are already planning on coming next year. Thank you Bob. !! If you’re looking for a great place to fish and relax. This is it…don’t hesitate .. This paradise goes fast..!!

Date of Stay: 4/15 thru 4/20/2016

Mark & Penny Gardner (Akron , Ohio 44320 USA)

Great weekend of racing and fishing!

Rated 5 out of 5
2016-04-18

We had a great stay in Pad #2! The place was clean and had all the comforts of home. Even some welcome cookies! Steps from the water and a wonderful fly-fishing spot and just a short drive to Bristol Motor Speedway. The kitchen was well stocked and we used the grill a number of times. We also enjoyed a few evening fires in the fire pit on the shore of the river. Truly a wonderful place! Thanks, Bob!

Date of Stay: 4/15-4/18 2016

Kent & Lisa Rowley (Maine, USA)

Blows tent camping away !!

Rated 5 out of 5
2016-04-04

I booked Pad#1 after surfing for other places to stay on the SoHo, the website is a good tool to make the sale. However my 2 buddies never really checked out the website, and when we all arrived at Pappaw’s, they were completely blown away by how great the place is. Truly, the home setting exceeds expectations. Every single thing that you could want is provided. No exceptions. The fact that it sits within spittin’ distance of maybe the best run on the river is icing on the cake. The fact that you don’t have to load up your backpack for a day on the river and get a backache – just bring your stuff from the pad down to the fire pit table and make your gear changes. And stop up to the pad for a noon break and a beer (or a nap!). Words cannot describe how convenient everything is. Bob has thought of everything and this is probably the best value I have ever experienced. We are already talking about next years trip. And the cookies left by Bob disappeared over the course of our stay. Pappaw’s is over the top.

Date of Stay: 3/31 – 4/4/2016

Mike Faracca (Williamsville)

Our Favorite Place on the South Holston

Rated 5 out of 5
2016-03-14

We have been staying at Papaws’ for several years. We love it for many reasons. It is the nicest place on the river, and is centrally located to all of the best fishing areas. The river at the cabin is also one of the best fishing spots. The accommodations are like being at home, but cleaner, with great kitchens and unlike anywhere else…nice gas and charcoal grills. They have all of the cooking utensils that you could ever need, which is always an issue at other cabins. There is a nice fire pit beside the river with nice chairs, and they have an abundant supply of firewood. It makes our fishing trips even more like a vacation. We look forward to many more trips to Papaws’.

Date of Stay: 3/11-3/14 2016

Anonymous

Tough fish but lots of them!

Rated 5 out of 5
2015-09-15

Stayed in RV–very very clean and comfortable–Bob is great to work with–terrific communication–we’ll return for sure!

Date of Stay: 9/8-9/15

Anonymous

Clean and all the comforts of Home!

Rated 5 out of 5
2015-08-14

Couldn’t believe just how clean Papaw’s pad #1 was, seriously clean ?? Very comfortable, had all the comforts of home and was so nice to come back to after a long day of fishing. The river was very beautiful where the pad sits and I caught my first nice brown trout within 10 minutes of wetting a line that first evening. It was really nice to get to meet Papaw and Mrs. Papaw during our stay and Papaw was very helpful giving us some tips on when and where to fish while we were there. Good folks, very kind, really sweet, especially the delicious bag of cookies they left for us! Thanks again for a great stay and we will definitely stay at Papaw’s pad again when we find ourselves back in town. ?? By the way, met a guy at the South Holston Fly Shop who was staying at a place across the river from us and he said it was so dirty he wouldn’t dream of bringing his wife there on his next trip. We gave him Papaw’s number ??

Date of Stay: 8/12-8/14/2015

Greg and Melanie Morrett (Lancaster, KY 40444 USA)

Can't Wait To Come Back!

Rated 5 out of 5
2015-08-09

I came here with my mom and dad. We can’t wait to come back . We stayed in pad 1 and it was like we were at home. Bob gave us cookies when we met. Bob is very kind and sweet he tries his hardest to make you comfortable. This was my first time fly fishing. Bob has helped us so much. He helped find places we were looking for. I lost my grandpa in 2008 and Bob has reminded me of grandpa and all the good memories. I love this place and I will be coming back in a couple of weeks. I hope you have a great time when you come stay like we did.

Date of Stay: 8/6/15-8/9/2015

Abby Goss (Trinity, NC 27370 USA)

Cookies and Hospitality

Rated 5 out of 5
2015-05-09

Hey Bob, Thanks for the cookies and this was our better spot of the 2 we chose to stay in TN. Accommodations fit us well. So close to the river and at a great fishing hole in the river as all seemed to congregate in that spot. Good spot to get to know the waters of the SO HO RIVER. If we come your way again we would definitely book your fishing Pad. Thanks for the TN hospitality as well, made us feel like home!

Date of Stay: 5/8-5/9/2015

Jan and Mike (Holland Patent, NY USA)

SPRING FISHING FLING

Rated 5 out of 5
2015-04-15

GREAT PLACE TO STAY. EVERYTHING YOU NEED IS RIGHT THERE. VERY CLEAN ROOMS, BEDS, UTENSILS, GLASSES, POTS & PANS. CAUGHT A FEW TROUT OFF THE BANK!

Date of Stay: 4/14-4/15/2015

TONY BRANCACCIO (Cary, NC 27518 USA)

Tough Fishing and Great Living

Rated 5 out of 5
2015-04-11

If you know the SoHo, you know it can be tough fishing with two inches of rain in one day and lots of generation. As far as the accommodations at Pappaw’s, it was great. Bob has a great place with some great fishing right out the door. It is very easy, just bring your fishing gear, stop for some groceries and you are ready. Both pad 1 and 2 have every thing you need from pots and pans to a washer and dryer. Both are very clean and the grounds are great. Easy access to the river. Many of the guides will drop anchor right there and pick up a few fish. The local Ospreys also love the fishing at Pappaw’s and you have a very good chance to see a Bald Eagle. We met some great guys while we were there and Bob is a great guy also. A great place for families or a group of fishing friends. I will try to stay there every time I go to the South Holston river.

Date of Stay: April 7th – 11th 2015

Robert Andrews (Cartersville, GA USA)

Fantastic place on the river!

Rated 5 out of 5
2015-04-10

Stayed for 4 nights in Pad#1 with 3 fishing buddies. The accommodations were more than comfortable. Bob Light is a great guy and a pleasure to do business with. Great fishing area right outside your door. What more could you ask for? Had a wonderful time and can’t wait to go back!

Date of Stay: 4/7/15-4/10/15

Mark Theiler (Euharlee, GA 30145 USA)

Fisherman

Rated 5 out of 5
2015-03-28

This was my second time at pap paws and both were great stays. The accommodations are the best. Clean, warm, comfortable, and convenient for fishing. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice play to stay and enjoy some fishing.

Date of Stay: 3/26-28 2015

Jordan Sweany (Washington, PA USA)

Fly Fisherman

Rated 5 out of 5
2014-10-02

This was our third visit to Pappaw’s. As usual we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Bob Light is a gracious host and gentleman. We will continue to come back and look forward to booking another trip soon.

Date of Stay: 9/30/14 – 10/2/14

Kevin Crowe (Charlotte, NC 28277 USA)

Wonderful weekend at Pappaw's!

Rated 5 out of 5
2014-07-05

This is our third time at Pappaw’s and we cannot wait to come back next year (maybe this Fall)! We stayed in Pad 2. It was very clean, well stocked with the necessities, and was very comfortable. Bob has done a lot of work on the bank of the river and it was very user friendly. The fishing was outstanding! We saw a neighbor catch a MONSTER trout one night! We highly recommend this for couples, families, guy trips, etc. Thanks Bob for taking good care of us! The cookies were great!

Date of Stay: 7/3-7/5/14

Laura J. (Mount Juliet, TN 37122 USA)

Loved it!

Rated 5 out of 5
2014-06-15

We stayed in the RV and loved it! Very clean and accessible. Hopefully we will get to return soon!

Date of Stay: 6/14-15

Linda Cobb (Walhalla, SC 29691 USA)

Awesome weekend at Pappaw's!

Rated 5 out of 5
2014-04-15

What a great place to spend a weekend fishing the S Fork of the Holston. This place has everything you need! You could go the whole weekend without ever having to get in the car. Great fishing within walking distance. We will be back for sure!! Thanks Bob!!

Date of Stay: April 2014

James C., Tennessee

Great Winter Fishing Spot

Rated 5 out of 5
2014-02-14

Enjoyed a long weekend stay at Pad #1. We were worried the fishing would not be good because of the cold weather (it had snowed the day before we arrived), but we had great luck, catching lots of browns and a few rainbows. At the advice of a friend that lives locally, we only fished when no generation was taking place, but that still left hours throughout the days we were there to be on the river. Our accommodations were first rate-clean, spacious, and stocked with all the kitchen gear we could possibly need. We got in later than we had planned the first night, so finding the cookies waiting for us was a welcome treat. Mr. Light was a delight to talk to and very helpful. We look forward to staying at Pappaw’s many more times in the future.

Referral Source: We booked because we were immediately impressed with Mr. Light after talking to him on the phone. It wasn’t until we talked to our friend that lives in the area that we realized that Pappaw’s is located in one of the best fishing areas on the river.

Date of Stay: 2/14/2014

The Stones (Taft, TN 38488 USA)

Great Place to Stay!

Rated 5 out of 5
2013-11-27

I met Mr. Light the day he moved his travel trailer onto his property on the river. He showed several of the guys I was fishing with Pad 1 and Pad 2 even though we had just come out of the river with wet wading boots and all. Stayed there this past Thanksgiving weekend. Great accommodations and met the folks staying in the lower unit and enjoyed fire river side with them.

Wading and fishing were not possible this trip because of the generation schedules. Great place to stay and great fishing to be had in the south Holston River.

I have run into Mr. Light several times while fishing the river and even in Winston Salem at the Fly Fishing Show and he is a joy to talk with and always willing to help.

Date of Stay: Thanksgiving Weekend 2013

Ralph Mueller (Apex, NC 27502 USA)

Beautiful, peaceful place!

Rated 5 out of 5
2013-09-03

What a pleasant surprise! My husband and I were headed to the NC Mountains and couldn’t check in until a Tuesday. I had heard of Pappaw’s and knew my husband would be beyond pleased to get to fish a few days on the South Holston. So we stayed at Pad #1 for 3 nights. In hindsight, I wish we had just stayed at Papaw’s the whole week! When we arrived, Pappaw (Bob) had already been there to leave homemade cookies on the table! What a treat! Had to go out and buy milk! Wasn’t a problem, there’s a nice little country store not even 5 minutes away. My husband was up before daylight wading out into the water. Later I walked down to the picnic table with my coffee while he fished. I could just sit there for days! It was so tranquil and just simply a beautiful place. The pad had everything we needed and I was very impressed with how clean everything was. When you think of a fishing pad, your not sure what to expect. But let me assure the ladies who may be staying that you will be pleased with the accommodations. Bob is just a treasure, and the perfect host. We will definitely be back!

Date of Stay: 8/30/13 – 9/3/13

Debbie Spencer (Jacksboro, TN. 37757 USA)

August 9th Long Weekend Vacation

Rated 5 out of 5
2013-07-15

This is my second visit to Pappaw’s Fishing Pad. The first visit was two years ago nearly to the day. I met the property owner Bob and was immediately impressed by his warm hospitality and caring attitude.  His accommodations were great as well. Pad 1 is great for parties of 5 or less and I really like the upstairs view of the river but Pad 2 is absolutely awesome and can handle as many as 7-9 people and is beautiful.

This last visit was a different experience than the first. On my first visit I was only able to fish one day for trout and had the most fun of my life. I caught nearly 30 trout in a 4 hour period and I couldn’t believe it. I had health problems when I came back home that prevented me from coming back last year but could not get the fishing experience out of my conscious. I had been hooked by some of the best trout fishing that could be had and it all took place right at the river’s edge on Pappaw’s lot. I never waded or left the bank and it was amazing.

This last visit my brother came with me and Bob (property owner) arranged for us to take a canoe ride from the S. Holston Weir (just below the dam) to the river’s edge of the property. I have been on many canoe journeys but none cut through the mountains and offer the scenery we were gifted with last Sunday. It was breathtakingly beautiful.

On this trip we met some friends (the people around the river seem to know no strangers and everyone is a potential friend) we were getting our fishing license at a local retail store and met a gentleman by the name of Kevin. We asked questions about what we should fish with and where to fish and he helped us tremendously. He also asked us if we were interested in striper fishing and we arranged an absolutely fabulous fishing trip to the exit of the Holston River at Boone Lake. My brother and I enjoyed two fantastic days of striper fishing then landed many fish and also allowed us the opportunity to meet two fine Tennessee gentleman that will, no doubt, become like family in the years to come. The names of the two guys are Kevin and Matt and the experience will be remembered for all our days. Thanks Bob (Pappaw’s Fishing Pad) for again hosting and facilitating one of the best vacations we could have hoped for.

Sincerely, Mitchell Key (Mitch)

Date of Stay: (4) Fri, Sat, Sun & Mon.

Mitchell Key (Jackson, SC. 29831 USA)

Fly Fishing Paradise

Rated 5 out of 5
2013-06-15

This place on the South Holston is absolutely amazing. The property is very well kept. We have stayed in both # 1 & # 2, and thoroughly enjoyed each of them. I was very pleased with each place, as they were both very clean and comfortable. Mr. Light ( the owner ) is very kind and accommodating.  I would and have recommended Pappaw’s Fishing Pad to all of our fishing friends. The fishing at this part of the South Holston River is THE BEST….we will stay at Pappaw’s Fishing Pad every chance we get.  As a matter of fact, I just reserved the RV for my husband for the weekend. If you are looking for a little piece of heaven on earth, then just book a stay at Pappaw’s. Thank you Mr. Light for sharing your amazing property with my family.  See you real soon.

The Perez Family

Penny Perez (Corryton, TN 37721 USA)

Great Time and Great Fishing

Rated 5 out of 5
2013-04-14

Great place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. Bob is always there if you need something. Thanks for everything. Can’t say enough. See you next year.

Date of Stay: 4/10-4/14/13

Todd

What a FABULOUS TWO WEEKS!

Rated 5 out of 5
2012-11-11

We had the privilege to fly fish for two weeks while staying in pad number 2. What a wonderful place we had! This is our way of Camping: hot water, dishwasher, Kitchen Aid Mixer no doubt! … Washer and Dryer!!! What a luxury to be away from home and have the capability to keep your clothes clean! The listing description was spot on including the pictures given. The property was clean and well maintained. The owner was absolutely FABULOUS! We would and have already… recommended the property to several people. We would recommend the Heartwood in as an attraction along with shopping downtown Bristol.

Date of Stay: 11/11/2012

Anonymous

Can't wait to come back!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
2012-08-05

We had visited Pappaw’s when our fly fishing club booked it in June…it was awesome.  So in August we got another trip going and decided to stay there.  Bob was more than hospitable…we stayed downstairs for 3 nights and there was 7 of us.  Very comfortable, clean and spacious.  We had a ball from fishing to eating.  The kitchen, ladies,…is stocked with everything imaginable!  Kitchen Aid, George Foreman Grill, Convection oven, every kind of kitchen utensil you would think of needing is there!  Of course there is also an outdoor grill.  We definitely plan on coming back here again and again.  The location couldn’t be any more perfect for relaxing but more so the fishing.  If you’ve got the time this is a place to stay at, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of Stay: August 2 – 5, 2012

Fishing Club Friends

Can't wait to come back!

Rated 5 out of 5
2012-07-08

We absolutely loved Pappaw’s!  Pad #1 was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed to make for a wonderful stay. We fished a couple of days and one day just paddled our tandem kayak up and down the river. It was perfect. The only thing we recommend is waders if you plan on getting in the river at all. It was very cold! The Friday night fish fry is awesome too! Bob was a delightful host and is very concerned with his guests. If you are looking for a wonderful trip for a couple, family or a group this is perfect. The river is beautiful!

Date of Stay: 7/4/12-7/8/12

Mt. Juliet Fans (Mt. Juliet, TN 37122 USA)

Modern Day Mayberry

Rated 5 out of 5
2012-06-23

My wife and I were highly encouraged to visit the South Holston River by several of our friends and boy are we glad that we did! Bob was very accommodating and willing to do anything and everything to make sure our anniversary stay was the best. Our stay in Bluff City was like going back in time with the community fish fry and southern hospitality. The fishing in the South Holston right outside the door at Pappaw’s Fishing Pad was the best on the whole river out of the several areas that I tried. We will be going back in the fall! Many thanks to Bob!

Date of Stay: June 19 – June 23

Derek (Blue Ridge, GA 30513 USA)

Awesome Vacation

Rated 5 out of 5
2012-06-02

Pappaw’s Fishing Pad #1 was exactly what we had expected. It was clean, and the view was breath-taking. It was a great place to fish as well as just sit back and relax and watch the river rise and fall. We stayed for six days, and Bob came by frequently to make sure that everything was o.k. He treated us with down to earth southern hospitality. We are definitely going to be going back to Bob’s Pappaw’s Fishing Pad #1.

Date of Stay: 5/27-6/2/12

Steve and Tammy Helton (North Carolina, USA)

Fly Fishing so good the baby could do it.

Rated 5 out of 5
2012-04-13

The Fly Fishing so good the baby could do it, literally.  My wife and I stood on the bank and hook fished with Dry Flies (light Cahills) and Rooster tails and handed the rod off to the kids, 2, 4, 5 and 6 yr olds. We caught them with rooster tails, nymphs, red worms. Had a 6 year old with me who drifted his own red worms and did good.

We never even left the cabin to fish. Didn’t need to. The Pad was on the water, clean, comfortable, loaded with all the amenities you’d expect from much more expensive places with far inferior fishing. There’s a Fish cleaning station on side of the cabin, if you want to keep them. The fire pit and gas grill were great! There was some competition for holes on the water, but more than enough fish to accommodate everyone.  I’ll be back.

Date of Stay: 4/10/12-4/13/12

Mike S. (Cincinnati, OH USA)

Great Place To Stay!

Rated 5 out of 5
2012-04-07

Papaw’s Fishing Pad is a wonderful place to stay. I have been coming up to the South Holston River for many years and stayed at several different places. This one is one of the best.  It’s clean, convenient, and has great fishing. I would not hesitate to refer anyone to come and stay here.

Date of Stay: 04/01/12-04/07/12

Riley Gudakunst (Blue Ridge, GA 30513 USA)

Great Time!

Rated 5 out of 5
2012-02-25

Had a wonderful time here. Facilities were clean and comfortable. Will definitely be coming back.

Date of Stay: 2/23-2/25/12

John Roegge (Roswell, GA 30075 USA)

Great place to stay to fish

Rated 5 out of 5
2012-02-21

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at pad#1. Was a great place to come back to after a day on the water. Found everything to be clean and comfortable. Having the river within casting distance is too cool. We will be using this place to stay on our next trip. Short drive to Bristol to nice restaurants.

Date of Stay: 2/20-2/21/12

Wayne Lewis (Honeoye, New York 14471 USA)

Angler's paradise on the SoHo

Rated 5 out of 5
2012-02-05

My brother and I, avid fly anglers both, made our first pilgrimage to the South Holston without a clue as to where to stay. The local guides said that there was really only one good place, Pappaw’s Fishing Pad. We stayed in Pad #1 and were completely satisfied with the accommodations.

It is nicely laid out, clean, comfortable beds and furniture, great kitchen and bathrooms, and has (most important after a hard day on the river) a good flat screen TV!  Another important advantage is that Webb’s Store, a 5 minute drive away, serves excellent food and is a downright friendly place (we even had to argue the owner into accepting a tip for the meals).

What needs to be stressed to the angler is that this place is perfectly situated at the lower end of a long stretch of world-class year-round trout water. We were pleased to discover that, after a good day of drift boat fishing with guides upstream near the dam, the trout were biting even better right down by water’s edge at Pappaw’s.  A self-guided tube float from upstream down to Pappaw’s, or from there to the next public access just downstream, or simply wade fishing by the property at low water, are all on our list of things to do when the little sulfur mayflies begin to come off this Spring.

Date of Stay: 2/3-2/5/12

Dan Carr (Atlanta, GA 30327 USA)

October 2011 Fly Fishing

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-10-30

Five of us arrived for a long weekend of fly fishing the South Holston.

Upon arrival, I walked down to the river and immediately saw 2 brown trout(10-inch+) jump clear out of the water! To say I was ready to go fishing at that point is an understatement.

We were quite impressed with Pad #1 and the spot on the river. The pictures don’t do it justice. During our stay we found the accommodations to be excellent. Bob has done a great job in updating the place and making it quite comfortable. There really wasn’t anything we needed, which wasn’t already there. It is also convenient to Webb’s store where you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner if you want. We ate breakfast every morning at Webb’s, they open at 5:30AM and you can’t beat the price, food and hospitality. They even cater in if you want!

Fishing the Holston is completely dependent on the generation schedule. In the mornings, we fished right there at Pappaw’s. At the lower end of the property the water feeds into a large deep pool, above that it is a long stretch of medium depth runs and riffles. We caught several trout, including a couple 15-inchers. The river here, both upstream and at Pappaw’s is very easy for wading, but at the same time it is some very good trout water.

I was glad to finally meet Bob the last day of our visit. He showed me around Pad #2 and also the RV, I was equally impressed as we were with Pad #1. He is a very welcoming and genuine good guy. He even asked me if there was anything I would add/change to make the place better. Honestly, I couldn’t think of anything.

Pappaw’s is definitely on our map as “the place to stay” when we fish the SoHo. It is comfortable and convenient for fishing anywhere on the Holston. We really did enjoy ourselves and will be back. Bob mentioned wanting to try fly fishing someday. All I can say is when he decides he’s ready, I’d be glad to show him the ropes. He’s already got the location right there at Pappaw’s Fishing Pad!

Date of Stay: October 27 thru 30 2011

Manny Wray (Ft. Mill, South Carolina, USA)

Fall 2011 group trip

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-10-15

A group of nine guys from my local fly tying club booked the larger cabin for a weekend in October, and couldn’t have been more pleased. This is a really nice place! Not only is it clean, but it is nicely updated and has a kitchen with everything you could need (just bring the food and drinks!).

We were a little concerned about fitting nine people in, but there was plenty of room to add some extra army cots and an air mattress in the bedrooms and living room.

The living room, kitchen, and dining room are all open, which made for a great area to hang out in the evenings. There were people cooking, eating, watching football, and tying flies all in the same area.

The setting was also excellent. We could hang waders under the porch then walk right into the river less than 100 feet from the door. The location also makes it an easy drive to other access points from the dam down to Bluff City. Of course the big draw is trout, and they did not disappoint.

The owner, Bob, was excellent to deal with. It was clear that he treats his customers like he would want to be treated. Overall, I would highly recommend this place to anyone, from groups of 2 or 3 to groups as large as ours.

Date of Stay: October 2011

Ben (Virginia, USA)

Husband and wife -- here to fish!

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-08-29

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend (Friday – Monday) at Pawpaw’s Fishing Pad. We travel a lot for business and pleasure and generally stay at very nice hotels. But this trip was meant to be a fishing trip and we intentionally selected a location directly on the river we intended to fish.

My initial contact with the owner of this property, Bob Light, was very positive. He discussed his property’s attributes, offered assistance upon arrival and at any time needed during our stay. Our reservation was set at that time. Upon arriving about 30 minutes from our cabin, I called Bob as we had planned and he gave me specific details so that we could locate the fishing pad. He also gave advice as to where to purchase groceries before arriving and where to eat locally (for sure at Webb’s!) and he again sincerely offered that we call him at any time during the stay for any assistance needed.

Our cabin on the river was all and more than promised/expected. It was a lovely, comfortable little 2 bedroom, recently renovated and very clean. It had a large and well equipped kitchen (although I don’t cook) and It was right on the river. At least once during our stay we connected with Bob and as he had during previous contacts — he made sure all was okay and he offered assistance at any time. Upon departure we coordinated meeting Bob personally. He was a very gracious host, with a wonderful property, in a fantastic fishing location. We couldn’t have asked for more.

Our greatest compliment to Bob and to his property is that we absolutely will return and plan to stay at Pawpaw’s Fishing Pad on our next visit to this area.

Date of Stay: 07/29 thru 08/01

Marie (Tampa Bay area - Florida)

Nice stay on the S Holston River

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-08-26

Nice setting on the river with good fishing access. Clean & comfortable trailer with very responsive management/owner. Will definitely rent again.

Date of Stay: 08/26 thru 08/28

Peter C (Durham, NC)

I needed to get a way for a little solitude

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-08-18

I’m a 49 years old man going through a divorce after being married to my wife of 30 years and needed desperately to get away from everything for a little while.

I was looking for peace and quiet not necessarily a fishing vacation and the property looked appealing on the internet. I arranged a 4 night stay with the owner who was one of the most courteous men I have ever met. He didn’t make me secure the property with a credit card or require me to jump through the many hoops that are typical for this type of stay. He simply took me at my word – he is a true gentleman.

I arrived late my first night (1:30am) and had to call him for specific directions to the house. He helped guide me straight to the property and wasn’t angry for me waking him up.

The first couple of days I caught up on some paperwork sitting down by the river on a picnic table while watching a multitude of fly fisherman catching some of the most beautiful trout I have ever laid my eyes on.

By my second day I couldn’t stand it any longer and went for my fishing license. I caught more trout in a day and a half than I have caught in my entire life and learned soo much from the local fisherman concerning the river and how to catch the fish. They were all friendly and courteous.

My stay was absolutely wonderful, the room, the view and the river were all excellent and the owner even allowed me to use a spare rod/reel to do my fishing. You simply don’t run across people like this very often anymore.

I will plan as many trips as possible to this location in the future. It was great.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, age 55+

Date of Stay: 08/14/11-08/18/11

Mitch (Augusta Ga. 30907 USA)

Excellent Place

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-06-21

Spent two short nights at Pappaw’s #2 recently. Have stayed at several places in the area and this is by far the best. Everything was sparkling clean and fresh. River access was excellent. Look forward to a return SOON! One fine facility and one fine person!

Date of Stay: 06/21/11

Al (Fincastle, VA)

Strike Indicator

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-06-21

I stayed with 5 other fishermen for three nights and four days.  We found the accommodations to be excellent.  Everything we needed was there and more, to make our stay comfortable. The view of the river is outstanding and beautiful. The fishing is very good and right in front of the apartment.  I drove by in January and noticed the sign.  We will come again.

Date of Stay: 06/18/2011 thru 06/21/2011

Conley Brown

Weekend Fishing Trip

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-05-29

This is a great location with easy river access. Didn’t spend much time indoors, fishing was awesome. Cabin was Very clean with everything we needed. Will definitely use again. Thanks Bob.

Date of Stay: 05/29/10

JG (Georgia)

A Place to Relax

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-05-26

Our week at the unit on the South Holston River was a peaceful and relaxing time. At any time we could see wild ducks swimming. In the mornings there were fishermen in the water pulling in the big ones. When water was released from the dam in the afternoons we saw people in canoes and rafts. It was nice sitting and eating by the water. the cabin was comfortable and had all that we needed.

Date of Stay: 05/21 thru 05/26

CM

Fishing Trip - Great Place to Stay

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-04-13

We had four guys stay at Pappaw’s Fishing Pad for a long weekend in April. We really enjoyed the place, was right on the river and you can literally walk out through the yard and fish the river! The owner (Bob) checked in often and ensured we had everything we needed. We all would very strongly recommend Pappaw’s for a fishing weekend or family stay. Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

Date of Stay: 04/13/11

tightlines (Glenview, IL)

MIKE--BLUFF CITY,TN

Rated 5 out of 5
2011-01-01

SINCE 1975, MY BROTHERS AND I HAVE ALWAYS FISHED PAPPAW’S FISHING PAD. BEING FROM HERE HAS GIVEN US THE ADVANTAGE OF KNOWING THE VERY BEST SPOTS ON THE RIVER AND THIS IS THE BEST. EVEN TWRA CLOSES THE FISHING ON THIS 1/2 MILE STRETCH DURING JANUARY BECAUSE OF THE VAST NUMBER OF FISH,STOCKING AND SPAWNING AT THIS PROPERTY. WE HAVE TAKEN SO MANY LARGE TROUT FROM THIS SITE. THIS YEAR, I GOT A 24INCH BROWN OUT OF THE 2 FOOT RAPIDS. I KNOW THE ENTIRE RIVER AND IF YOU LET BOB KNOW IN ADVANCE I WOULD BE GLAD TO MEET ANYONE TO SHOW THEM THE HOT SPOTS .

Date of Stay: 01/01/11

Mike (Bluff City, TN USA)

Weekend Fishing Trip

Rated 5 out of 5
2010-11-05

A buddy of mine and I just stayed at “pappaw’s fishing pad” this past weekend and had a great time. The owner, Bob, really went out of his way to see to it that we had everything we needed and felt welcomed. The house is situated right on the banks of the South Holston River at a location known as “Webb Bridge.”

The accommodations were quite nice, recently remodeled. Cable TV and internet hook-up was a real nice extra. There is a charcoal grill and a fire pit in a nice-sized yard along the river’s edge to relax at after a day’s fishing, or to just sit and watch the river go by.

The scenery and wildlife here is quite nice. The fishing on the South Holston really is exceptional. This was our third trip to the area and we will definitely be calling Bob again for another reservation in the future. You will not be disappointed with this rental.

Date of Stay: 11/05/10

fatherpaul (Louisville, KY)

Mike & Amy

Rated 5 out of 5
2010-09-01

We decided to stay at Pappaw’s Fishing Pad because it seemed to have everything we were looking for. As it turned out, this place had much more than what we expected. Thanks to Bob. We had planned to get away for my birthday and wanted to do nothing but relax and to go fishing every chance we got.

When we arrived, I was so surprised to see that Bob had a birthday present for me on the table. The place was very clean, cozy and comfortable inside and out. We had a nice place to sit and grill out on the deck with a great view of the river. We especially enjoyed having our morning coffee on the deck watching the fog on the river. Another place we found very relaxing was the swing below the deck. There is a nice spot down by the river with a picnic table to enjoy lunch.

Bob had Mike (one of his friends) come by to give us some pointers on how to hook a trout as long as my leg. Well, it got away, but I’ll get him next time! Thanks Mike for your support and all the laughs. We were having such a good time we decided to stay an extra night. We highly recommend this place and we will be back.

Thanks Bob,

Mike & Amy

Date of Stay: 09/01/10

Mike & Amy

Great hospitality! Peaceful and relaxing stay!

Rated 5 out of 5
2010-08-19

At Pappaw’s Fishing Pad you get everything listed and more. It’s right on the river with plenty of room to fish, sit around by the fire, or play a game with your kids. We called a month out and were truly lucky to find this place.

I was a little unsure of what all was provided and what we needed to bring, but Bob was very helpful in answering all of our questions ahead of time so we could properly pack. When we arrived he had the lights on for us (since we came in at night) and he had placed home grown vegetables in the kitchen for us to eat.

The place was clean and there were plenty of amenities to make it feel like home including a phone, as cell phone reception isn’t always the best out there. Bob recommended several places to eat in the area and we checked out the Country Kitchen/Kettle for lunch one day. Absolutely fabulous country cooking by the nicest ladies. The main reason for our trip was the NASCAR Sprint Cup in Bristol. Pappaw’s Fishing Pad is about 6 miles from the race track… a perfect driving distance as it is away from the hustle and bustle of it all. If you’re looking for a place to relax, this is the place.

It’s very refreshing to rent a place from someone who treats you like family from the beginning to the end. I will recommend this place to all of my family and friends looking to travel to Bristol and intend on coming to stay here again in the future. Thanks for the wonderful hospitality Bob!

Date of Stay: 08/19/10

Karoline (Clarksville,TN)

Contact Us

14 + 5 =

© Contents Copyright
Pappaw's Fishing Pad
All Rights Reserved

© Website Copyright
Tri-Cities Web Solutions
All Rights Reserved